top of page

Avocado Toast with a Citrus Yogurt Vinaigrette

There was a time when I could eat anything I wanted for breakfast and feel totally fine. Then all a sudden that wasn’t the case anymore. I realized I needed to start watching what I put into my body. I needed healthier options, I needed more substantial foods, my body was craving it. But I still wanted my breakfast to taste good. I refused to sacrifice that. Avocado toast became a way, I could get a great little breakfast in without weighing me down first thing in the morning. Especially when I had a full day of work and life ahead of me. These toasts are a life saver. I usually prep double recipes of the Citrus Yogurt Vinaigrette and the Pickled Onions, so I have enough for 2 days. These can even be prepped the evening before, however I suggest prepping the smashed avocado as you need it.


This is a fantastic, balanced toast. The avocado smash provides that creaminess and healthy fats and I love the peppery taste from the arugula. The jalapenos bring the heat, the cucumbers bring a crunch, while the onions bring the tang. Top that all off with a little Citrus Vinaigrette for a bit of freshness and flavor, along with the protein from your egg. This Avocado Toast will get your day started in the right state of mind.



Serves 2 toasts


Ingredient List:


Pickled Red Onions

Red onions, thinly sliced, 1/2 cup

Water, 1/4 cup

White vinegar, 1/4 cup

Oregano, dry, 1/4 teaspoon

Juice of Lemon, 1/2 each

Honey, good quality, 1 tablespoon

Kosher salt, 1 teaspoon

Black pepper, 1/8 teaspoon


Avocado Smash

Avocado, ripped, 1 each

Juice of lemon or lime, 1/2 each

Dry thyme, 1/8 teaspoon

Turmeric, ground, 1/8 teaspoon

Black pepper, 1/8 teaspoon

Kosher salt, ¼ teaspoon


Citrus Yogurt Vinaigrette

Greek yogurt, plain, 1/4 cup

Juice of lemon, 1/2 - 1 each

Dijon mustard, 2 teaspoons

White Vinegar, 1 tablespoon

Oregano, dry, 1/4 teaspoon

Kosher salt, to taste

Black pepper, to taste

Avocado oil, 2 tablespoons


Assemble your toast:

Wholegrain toast, good quality, 2 slices

Arugula, 1-2 cups

Jalapeno, thinly sliced, as desired

Cucumber, diced small, 1/2 cup

Feta cheese, as needed

Black pepper, to garnish

Eggs, any style, 2

Avocado oil, as needed for cooking


Lets get cooking:


1. Prepare the Pickled Onions: Prepare onions by cutting them in half, slicing thin slices, and placing them in a bowl. In a small sauce pot, bring all the other ingredients to a simmer. Carefully pour the simmering liquid over the onions and allow to rest in the liquid until they turn a nice shade of purple/pink. Set aside until you are ready to use the onions or store in an airtight container. Good for 7 days.


2. Prepare the Citrus Vinaigrette: In a small bowl add the Greek yogurt, lemon juice, mustard, white vinegar, oregano, salt and pepper and stir with a whisk. Then slowly stir in the avocado oil until it emulsifies. Taste and adjust with any more salt or pepper, cover and place in the refrigerator until needed.


3. Prepare Avocado Smash: In a small bowl, add all the ingredients and smash with a fork to your desired texture.


4. Assemble your toasts: Toast your bread and place onto a plate. Smear with smashed avocado, then top with arugula, pickled onions, sliced jalapenos and chopped cucumber. Sprinkle with feta cheese, and drizzle with your vinaigrette, then top with your cooked egg. Top with a little black pepper.


Chef’s Tips: Cook your egg however you desire. I suggest a creamy yolk, but use your best judgement. If you are poaching eggs as shown, bring water to a boil in a small sauce pot and add salt and some vinegar, crack your eggs into the water and give the water a swirl. Allow the eggs to cook for about 3-4 minutes until the whites are firm but the yolk is still soft. Remove from the water with a slotted spoon, making sure to strain well, and place on top your toasts.

56 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Asset 6.png
bottom of page